Monday, November 26, 2012

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness [Review]

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking, #1)5 out of 5 Robots!

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
Series: Chaos Walking #1
Genre: Young Adult Dystopian/Sci-Fi
Release: May 5, 2008
Hardcover: 496 Pages
Publisher: Walker
My Copy: Purchased
Reviewer: Shannon
Buy the Book: Amazon

Book Summary:
Prentisstown isn't like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else's thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee -- whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not -- stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden -- a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives.

But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought
(Courtesy of the Publisher)
Shannon's Thoughts:
I had no idea what to expect when I picked this book up, but I'm so glad I did!  It was funny, exciting and different than anything I've read so far.  Patrick Ness does an amazing job of bringing Todd to life.  The Knife of Never Letting Go is told completely in Todd's voice, from the bad grammar to the misspelled words so you really become immersed in Todd's thoughts.  Todd is fierce and conflicted 14 year old with a witty and sassy sense of humor.  And he really grows throughout the book as he learns more about the history of Prentisstown and his role in the town.  He especially grows in his relationship with Viola.  I loved watching their friendship develop.  I also loved Manchee!  Ness captured a dog's personality perfectly.  The Knife of Never Letting Go is thrilling, creepy and at times heartbreaking.  There is one scene that had me sobbing.  Like, full on sobbing.  I really recommend this book!  Fans of Blood Red Road and Under the Never Sky will really enjoy this book!


  1. I did hear a couple of reviewers talk about this book a while ago. But i never read the blurb. Now, that i read it, it's equally unique and enchanting. I love the idea of everyone hearing everyone's thoughts.
    I am adding this to my TBR
    Great review,
    Your constant reader,

  2. I absolutely love these books (I still have to finish the series) but though I did find it hard in the beginning to read because of the way it is written I got into it pretty quick. I loved being in Todd's mind throughout the story, I found I was able to connect with his character because I knew his thoughts and feelings. I can't wait to hear what you think about the rest of the series... The Ask and the Answer definitely is a great sequel!

    1. I'll be reading them this month for sure! :)



Related Posts Plugin