Friday, December 7, 2012

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White [Review]

Paranormalcy (Paranormalcy, #1)4 out of 5 Robots!

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White
Series: Paranormalcy #1
Genre: Young Adult Paranormal
Release: August 31, 2010
Hardcover: 335 Pages
Publisher: HarperTeen
My Copy: Purchased
Reviewer: Shannon
Buy the Book: Amazon

Book Summary:
Evie's always thought of herself as a normal teenager, even though she works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she's falling for a shape-shifter, and she's the only person who can see through paranormals' glamours.

But Evie's about to realize that she may very well be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal.  
(Courtesy of the Publisher)
Shannon's Thoughts:

Paranormalcy was a fun, quick read with a fairly unique take on the ubiquitous YA paranormal genre. Paranormals are located, tagged and supervised by an international organization known as the IPCA.  Evie, a 17 year old, has a special power that allows her to see through paranormals’ glamours and has worked for the IPCA since she was taken in as an orphaned young child.  Other than that, Evie is a normal teenage who loves pink and sparkles and teenage soap operas.  But Evie’s carefully controlled world starts crashing down with the arrival of Lend, a shape-shifter, and the discovery of paranormal murderer.  Everything Evie ever thought about herself and her world changes and she has to figure out who she really is.  

I liked the mish mash of paranormals - vampires, werewolves, mermaids, hags, faeries and how they all have to exist in the real world and with each other.  I enjoyed Evie and loved the relationship that develops between her and Lend. And Lend.  What a sweetie.  Seriously.  The book really picks up on the back end and gets pretty exciting.  I like that there isn’t a cliffhanger, but enough left to keep me interested to keep reading.  Overall, it was a lot of fun and I'm excited to read the next two book in the series.

Fans of Hex Hall and Spellcaster will enjoy this series.

Books in the series in the order they should be read:
1. Paranormalcy
2. Supernaturally
3. Endlessly

1 comment :

  1. I really enjoyed Paranormalcy. I still need to read Endlessly. Glad you liked it.



Related Posts Plugin