Monday, February 4, 2013

House Rules by Chloe Neill [Review]

4 out of 5 Robots!
House Rules
Series: Chicagoland Vampires, #7
Author: Chloe Neill
Release: February 5, 2013
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: NAL Trade 
Buy this Book: Amazon

About this Book:
In a city full of vampires, trouble never sleeps.
At the tender age of 27, Merit became a sword-wielding vampire. Since then, she’s become the protector of her House, watched Chicago nearly burn to the ground, and seen her Master fall and rise. Now she’ll see her mettle—and her metal —tested like never before.

It started with two . . . Two rogues vanishing without a trace. Someone is targeting Chicago’s vampires, and anyone could be next. With their house in peril, Merit and her Master, the centuries old Ethan Sullivan, must race to stop the disappearances. But as they untangle a web of secret alliances and ancient evils, they realize their foe is more familiar, and more powerful, than they could have ever imagined.

Quick Thoughts:
HOUSE RULES is the newest, fiercest addition to the Chicagoland Vampire series. If you're a veteran of the series, order this book, NOW. You won't be disappointed- If you haven't begun this series yet, you're missing out and you need to hop on the Merit & Ethan bandwagon. Nothing will stop you from flipping the pages once you've begun. HOUSE RULES is stacked with action, wit and plot twists - an urban fantasy reader's dream.

I'll be honest, the last couple books seemed a little trite and weren't as compelling as the first few. I didn't have high hopes for HOUSE RULES as I was slowly losing interest in the series. I am SO GLAD I stuck it out and picked up HOUSE RULES. I am back on the edge of my seat, waiting for more. Ethan and Merit are solid and kicking ass. Also, I know I've said this before, but Neill really is excellent at keeping you up to speed without seeming redundant. 

The best part of HOUSE RULES is the evolution of Merit and Ethan and the obstacles that their relationship endures. I love the drama. Serial killers. Stubborn (awesome) Merit. This is an absolutely gripping, fast paced novel and I simply loved it. Hoping that Merit and Ethan continue to get more and more serious and Neill has lots more mystery and adventure in the upcoming novels!!

Books in this series in the order that they should be read:
1. Some Girls Bite
2. Friday Night Bites
3. Twice Bitten
4. Hard Bitten
5. Drink Deep
6. Biting Cold 
7. House Rules 

No comments :

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin