Thursday, June 27, 2013

Dark Frost by Jennifer Estep [Review]

Dark Frost (Mythos Academy, #3)4 out of 5 Robots!

Dark Frost by Jennifer Estep
Series: Mythos Academy #3
Genre: Young Adult Urban Fantasy
Release: May 29, 2012
Hardcover: 352 Pages
My Copy: Purchased
Reviewer: Shannon
Buy the Book: Amazon

Book Summary:
I've seen so many freaky things since I started attending Mythos Academy last fall. I know I'm supposed to be a fearless warrior, but most of the time, I feel like I'm just waiting for the next Bad, Bad Thing to happen. Like someone trying to kill me--again.

Everyone at Mythos Academy knows me as Gwen Frost, the Gypsy girl who uses her psychometry magic to find lost objects--and who just may be dating Logan Quinn, the hottest guy in school. But I'm also the girl the Reapers of Chaos want dead in the worst way. The Reapers are the baddest of the bad, the people who murdered my mom. So why do they have it in for me? It turns out my mom hid a powerful artifact called the Helheim Dagger before she died. Now, the Reapers will do anything to get it back. They think I know where the dagger is hidden, but this is one thing I can't use my magic to find. All I do know is that the Reapers are coming for me--and I'm in for the fight of my life.

Shannon's Thoughts:
We're back with Gwen again in this third book of the Mythos Academy series.  Mythos Academy is a fun, easy series set at a boarding school for descendents of mythical warriors.  I really like the mythology aspect of the series.  Gwen is also a fun character. She is witty and self-deprecating.  Although I do get tired of the writing style sometimes.  I find it irritating that Gwen constantly refers to people by the same adjective over and over.  When she isn't calling Logan by his name, he is always called "The Spartan", or her friend Carson is always referred to as "The Band Geek".  I dislike it when the same adjective is used over and over.  But I did think the recapping was better done and more seamless in this book than the previous one.

Also some previous characters make fun returns including the Fenrir Wolf that Gwen saved in the previous book, Kiss of Frost.  Logan is a bit MIA this round, but there is finally some resolution between him and Gwen.  The ending blows a hole wide open in the storyline and I am really excited to see what happens in the next book. 

Other books in this series in the order that they should be read:
.5. First Frost
1. Touch of Frost
2. Kiss of Frost
3. Dark Frost
4. Crimson Frost
4.5 Spartan Frost
5. Midnight Frost (expected publication July 30th)

1 comment :

  1. Great review! I have read the first few in this series and enjoyed them. This one is on my TBR list. :)
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts!



Related Posts Plugin