Wednesday, September 25, 2013

The Deepest Night by Shana Abe [Review]

The Deepest Night (The Sweetest Dark, #2)5 out of 5 Robots!

The Deepest Night by Shana Abe
Series: The Sweetest Dark #2
Genre: YA Paranormal/Historical Fantasy
Release: August 13, 2013
Hardcover: 320 Pages
Publisher: Bantam
My Copy: Purchased
Reviewer: Shannon
Buy the Book: Amazon

Book Summary:
A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.

It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.

Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.

With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.

Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love.
(Courtesy of the Publisher)

Shannon's Thoughts:
I really liked the first novel, The Sweetest Dark, but I loved this sequel!  The Deepest Night takes place a few months after the events of The Sweetest Dark.  Lora is mourning for Jesse and trying to recover from her wounds.   She is not sure where she will go when the school ends, or even if she will be allowed back the following year.  But when she and Armand discover the prisoner of war, they realize they need to work together if they are going to succeed in their rescue mission.

All the things I loved about the first book as present in the second.  The writing is still beautiful, elegant and poetic.  I enjoyed Lora's wit even more this time around, especially when confronted with her rivals.  But my favorite part was the further development of Armand and Lora's relationship.  I liked Lora and Jesse's sweet, caring relationship, but love Armand and Lora's fiery one even more.  They are so different, yet so similar and are drawn to each other in ways other than just attraction. Their deepening relationship is really the highlight of this book. Shana Abe writes it beautifully.  It is passionate and romantic.  This book also had a lot more action than the first and they found themselves in some truly sticky situations.  Their rescue mission was quite thrilling and had me on the edge of my seat.

Overall, this series was a complete surprise for me.  I had no idea what I was getting myself into, but I love the romantic, gorgeous writing and the sparks that fly between the characters.  I can't wait until the third book comes out!

Other books in this series in the order that they should be read:
1. The Sweetest Dark
2. The Deepest Night


  1. I have never heard of this series before, but magic in the 19 teens and also whatever a drakon is because that sounds AWESOME (Maybe related to dragons? It doesn't sound like a dragony book though). I'm totally sold!

    1. When I first started this series, I had NO idea it involved dragons. But it isn't a typical dragon book, which I loved. You should definitely give it a try!



Related Posts Plugin