Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Champion by Marie Lu [Joint Review!]

Champion (Legend, #3) 5 out of 5 Robots!
 


Champion by Marie Lu
Series: Legend #3
Genre: YA Dystopian
Release: November 5, 2013
Hardcover: 369 Pages
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
My Copy: Purchased
Reviewer: Shannon
Buy the Book: Amazon

Book Summary:
The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.
(Courtesy of the Publisher)

Julia and Shannon's Thoughts:

1. What was your favorite part?  Least favorite part?
Julia: My absolute favorite part is the ending. There is action, heartbreak, happiness and SO MUCH more. The entire book is heart wrenching. I don't think I had a least favorite part.... Well, okay, the whole serum/finding a cure thing annoyed me. But whatever this book owned the trilogy!

Shannon: The epilogue is one of my favorite parts too.  It brought everything together so beautifully.  I didn't have a least favorite part either.  Well, if I had to pick something, I suppose it would be the beginning when June and Day haven't spoken to each other for 8 months and things are super awkward between them.

2. On a scale of one to heartbreak, how much did this book break your heart?
Julia: HEARTBREAK times infinity!!!! In a good way. The best way.

Shannon: Definitely heartbreak.  But ohmygosh, in, like, the best way.  There were definitely some very touching and sad moments.  But they were handled so well.  But don't let that scare you off!  I love that Marie Lu didn't opt for the easy way out all the time.  

3. Favorite character?  Or favorite moment?
Julia: Day is my favorite character and my favorite moment- I won't tell you *when* this moment is, but it is Day and his brother walking side by side down a street...his brother talking in a very animated way with his hands. I don't know why that moment felt super real to me and I just loved it.

Shannon: I love Day.  I love that he is June's opposite.  But I also really warmed up to June in this book too.  She isn't as easy to love as Day.  She is very logical and methodical, whereas Day wears his heart on his sleeve.  My favorite moment is the very last paragraph between June and Day.

4. Overall, how did this book fit into the series?  Was it a satisfying ending?
Julia: This is the most satisfying ending of all time. It fits the story perfectly and I think that we get to see all of the characters evolve exactly how we wish. And everything is connected- it feels like the same story continued from book one and two. These are the same characters we loved in the other books, and they're back to make our hearts flutter once more.

Shannon: After reading another very popular series ender and being very disappointed, I am even more impressed with this book.  I really think each book got better and there were so many ways Marie Lu could have ended it.  But she walked a good line between letting the characters deal with hard things but also breathing hope and closure into it.  I was completely satisfied with the ending and thought it made the series incredibly strong from start to finish.

5. What did you think of the ending?
Julia: Well, uh, what I said above. haha. At first you're like, oh, that's cheesy. Then you're like oh no she didn't! Then you say, ahhh, okay, not perfect, but pretty damn perfect. Marie Lu delivers her fans the ultimate ending. I highly recommend this series.

Shannon: AHHH, the ending!!  I really had no idea how Marie Lu was going to end it.  It gave me such anxiety it.  At first I was like, "this better not go down how I think it is" and to then thinking "I hope she doesn't chicken out and magically erase all the problems".  Even as I was reading the epilogue and starting to really bite my nails, Marie Lu pulls out a heartbreaking (in a good way!) coup.  I was so happy that's where she left it because it seems real and genuine.  

6. Who would you recommend this series to?
Julia: Everyone. But I really want my brother Joey to read it so we can talk about it!!

Shannon: Oh, definitely fans of dystopian.  Also, I think teen boy would really like this series.  Reluctant readers who like a lot of action. 

Other books in this series in the order that they should be read:
1. Legend
2. Prodigy
3. Champion

No comments :

Post a Comment

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin