Monday, April 28, 2014

The Best Last Kiss by Claire LaZebnik [Review]

The Last Best Kiss4 out of 5 Robots!

The Last Best Kiss by Claire LaZebnik
Genre: YA Contemporary
Release: April 22, 2014
Paperback: 320 Pages
Publisher: HarperTeen
My Copy: Publisher (Edelweiss)
Reviewer: Shannon
Buy the Book: Amazon

Book Summary:
Anna Eliot is tired of worrying about what other people think. After all, that was how she lost the only guy she ever really liked, Finn Westbrook.

Now, three years after she broke his heart, the one who got away is back in her life.

All Anna wants is a chance to relive their last kiss again (and again and again). But Finn obviously hasn’t forgotten how she treated him, and he’s made it clear he has no interest in having anything to do with her.

Anna keeps trying to persuade herself that she doesn’t care about Finn either, but even though they’ve both changed since they first met, deep down she knows he’s the guy for her. Now if only she can get him to believe that, too....

With her signature wit and expertly authentic teen voice, Claire LaZebnik (the author of fan favorites Epic Fail and The Trouble with Flirting) once again breathes new life into a perennially popular love story. Fans of Polly Shulman, Maureen Johnson, and, of course, Jane Austen will love this irresistibly funny and romantic tale of first loves and second chances.
(Courtesy of the Publisher)

Shannon's Thoughts:
This was my first experience with Claire LaZebnik.  I'm starting to tentatively spread my contemporary YA wings and I'm happy they extended to this book.  Initially I was a little thrown off by the writing style.  I don't know if this is a trait of LaZebnik, or just this book, but it was written in a very matter-of-fact conversational tone.  I wasn't sure I liked the bluntness of the writing at first, but I managed to settle into it and actually came to appreciate it.  Because these teenagers sound like...teenagers!  Hallelujah!  The way they interacted with each other felt very realistic - whether it was the teasing, the disagreements, the make ups, or the way they supported each other.  They all had their (realistic) quirks and all felt like they could be real people.  I loved that.  One of the reasons I hold back in contemporary YA is because I feel like we are often given caricatures of teenagers. 

As for the central "romance"...I also felt that was well handled.  Anna and Finn had a lot to overcome, but did so slowly and organically. The ending was maybe a little perfect, but I was happy it ended on the note it did. 

Overall, I really enjoyed the authenticity of the characters and their relationships with each other.  I think this is worthwhile YA contemporary to read!

Disclosure:  I reviewed a copy free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

No comments :

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin