Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman [Review]

Prisoner of Night and Fog (Prisoner of Night and Fog, #1)4.5 out of 5 Robots!

Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman
Series: Prisoner of Night and Fog #1
Genre: YA Historical Fiction
Release: April 22, 2014
Hardcover: 401 Pages
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
My Copy: Publisher (Edelweiss)
Reviewer: Shannon
Buy the Book: Amazon

Book Summary:
In 1930s Munich, danger lurks behind dark corners, and secrets are buried deep within the city. But Gretchen Müller, who grew up in the National Socialist Party under the wing of her "uncle" Dolf, has been shielded from that side of society ever since her father traded his life for Dolf's, and Gretchen is his favorite, his pet.

Uncle Dolf is none other than Adolf Hitler.

And Gretchen follows his every command.

Until she meets a fearless and handsome young Jewish reporter named Daniel Cohen. Gretchen should despise Daniel, yet she can't stop herself from listening to his story: that her father, the adored Nazi martyr, was actually murdered by an unknown comrade. She also can't help the fierce attraction brewing between them, despite everything she's been taught to believe about Jews.

As Gretchen investigates the very people she's always considered friends, she must decide where her loyalties lie. Will she choose the safety of her former life as a Nazi darling, or will she dare to dig up the truth—even if it could get her and Daniel killed?

From debut author Anne Blankman comes this harrowing and evocative story about an ordinary girl faced with the extraordinary decision to give up everything she's ever believed . . . and to trust her own heart instead.
(Courtesy of the Publisher)

Shannon's Thoughts:
This book takes place during a time period I am not very familiar with (other than American History), and I found it really interesting.  Hitler is not in power yet, but he is increasing his control in Munich and things are becoming very dangerous for those who are not stepping in line with his rhetoric.  I loved how Blankman weaves real life figures with her fictional ones.  We meet Eva Braun, Geli Raubal and other well known Nazi figures along the way while Gretchen tries to solve the mystery of her father's death.

This book was also really intense.  I was very drawn into Gretchen's story and got so absorbed that I sometimes missed my bus stop.  I'm pretty sure if I chewed my fingernails, they would have been nubs.  Not only did I fear for Gretchen and Daniel's lives, but there is something very haunting reading about these events when you know what the ultimate outcome (WWII and the Holocaust) will be.  I wasn't sure if I would actually enjoy that or not, but I was completely caught up in this book.

I really liked Gretchen.  Even though she suffered the loss of her father at an early age, she starts off fairly protected and naive.  But she is also smart.  And she starts to see things as they really are very quickly.  She is very brave and very passionate.  Her relationship with Daniel starts off as troubled, but quickly grows.  I thought their relationship was very sweet.

I find it hard to read books about this time period because it is so disturbing to me, but some of my favorite books ARE about this time period.  Go figure. 

I really recommend this book - especially for fans of Code Name Verity and The Book Thief

Disclosure:  I reviewed a copy free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

No comments :

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin