Thursday, May 8, 2014

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick [Review]

What I Thought Was True4.5 out of 5 Robots!
  


What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Genre: YA Contemporary
Release: April 15, 2014
Hardcover: 416 Pages
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
My Copy: Purchased
Reviewer: Shannon
Buy the Book: Amazon

Book Summary:
From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.
(Courtesy of the Publisher)

Shannon's Thoughts:
Last year I read Huntley Fitzpatrick's My Life Next Door and loved it.  I was so excited to see another novel and I was very eager to get my grubby little hands on it.  I don't think I swooned as much for What I Thought Was True as I did for My Life Next Door, but I still think it was an incredibly worthy follow up. 

Gwen Castle is a local.  She comes from a blue collar family that works for the rich off-islanders who swarm the island during the summer.  She takes a summer job as a companion for elderly rich woman, but ends up running into Cass Somers, who is paying penance by working as a yard boy for the summer.  From the get-go, it is obvious that something happened between Gwen and Cass and it didn't end well.  But their chemistry is undeniable and their banter is a lot of fun.  We don't actually find out exactly what happened between them until about half way through the book.  But I really like what unfolded. 

Gwen, we learn, has a bit of reputation with the guys.  This leads to some misconceptions and misunderstandings, but I liked that ultimately there was an earnest and frank discussion of sexuality - especially a female's sexuality.  Fitzpatrick does not demonize sex and handles it in a very real, non judgmental way.  I think more YA literature can stand to address the issue this way. 

Overall, a perfect summer read with a sweet, earnest romance and a look at young love.  I've quite fallen in love with Huntley Fitzpatrick and can't wait to read her next book!

No comments :

Post a Comment

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin