Saturday, March 28, 2015

Unleashed by Sophie Jordan [Joint Review]

Unleashed (Uninvited, #2) 3 out of 5 Robots!

Unleashed by Sophie Jordan

Series: Uninvited #2
Genre: YA Dystopian
Release: February 24, 2015
Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Harper Teen
My Copy: Purchased
Reviewer: Julia & Shannon

Book Summary:
Unleashed, the romantic, high-stakes sequel to New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's Uninvited, is perfect for fans of James Patterson's Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy has spent the last few months trying to come to terms with the fact that she tested positive for the kill gene HTS (also known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome). She swore she would not let it change her, and that her DNA did not define her . . . but then she killed a man.

Now on the run, Davy must decide whether she'll be ruled by the kill gene or if she'll follow her heart and fight for her right to live free. But with her own potential for violence lying right beneath the surface, Davy doesn't even know if she can trust herself.

(Courtesy of the Publisher)

Julia and Shannon's Thoughts:
1.  In a sentence or two, describe how you felt about this book.
Julia:  Unleashed is frustrating and disappointing. As excited as I was to read this book, the excitement died pretty quickly... There isn't really any action and the novel turned into Davy's love story/self-loathing. 
Shannon: I'm not even sure what I just read.  This book feels like a large departure from the first book which dealt a lot more with HTS and the government's response to it.  This book is all about Davy's identity crisis and her love triangle.  I...wasn't a fan.

2. What was your favorite part?  Least favorite part?
Julia: My favorite part is probably Caden... He is a new character and he commanding, compassionate and a little badass. My least favorite part is the development of the story. Nothing happens! Literally, nothing happens. The ending is so anticlimactic! 
Shannon: I agree, I liked Caden well enough.  And I liked that the book dealt with the consequence of killing someone - even if it is in self defense.  My least favorite part was that this book barely dealt with anything it set up in the first book!  Davy finds herself involved with The Resistance...but they literally do nothing.  Instead, all the focus is on Davy and Caden.  And the ending is incredibly anti-climatic.  I don't get it.  It's like Sophie Jordan got bored with HTS and wanted to write a romance novel instead.

3. How did you feel about Davy's character development?
Julia: Frustrated! Her character development... In one breath, she is haunted by murdering someone to save someone she cares about survive. But then, she has no problem at all and is totally guilt free for killing to save her own life? But she also doesn't accept herself.......uhhh... Merp. In my mind she walked around this entire novel with a scowl on her face.
Shannon:  Agreed.  Davy is hard to take in this novel.  She is prickly and defensive and I honestly cannot see what Caden sees in her.  Like, why would he want to with her when all she does is act cold towards him?  I don't get it.  I appreciate that Davy was haunted by the events that happened in the first book, but it still didn't make me root for her at all.

4. What did you think of the new characters?
Julia: I enjoyed them. I did really like compassionate Caden. We really don't get to know any other characters except Junie, Tabatha and Phelps and though they're pretty major secondary characters... I also feel like they were kind of glazed over because I had no inkling of care or entertainment from them.
Shannon: They were alright.  I had no real complaints, although they seemed pretty standard.  But I did miss the old characters.  They really are not in this book at all.  

5. How does this book compare to the first one?
Julia: This book blows compared to the first one. Uninvited made my heart ache and I literally couldn't put it down. 
Shannon: I felt like I was reading a different book.  I liked the first book more than I expected and I liked this one less than I expected.

6.  How many stars would you rate this book?  Who would you recommend it to?
Julia: 3 stars. I don't have much to say even about the rating, it was good enough to keep me reading but I wasn't pumped about it. Definitely suggest reading this if you read Uninvited so you can see how the characters end up
Shannon: I would still give it 3 stars.  I was fairly entertained while I was reading.  It was really only afterwards that I felt a little cheated.  I think fans of Uninvited should read it and see if they felt the same way we did.  

No comments :

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin