Saturday, May 30, 2015

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Saraj J. Maas [Joint Review]

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)4.5 out of 5 Robots!


A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Release: May 5, 2015
Hardcover: 416 Pages
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
My Copy: Purchased
Reviewer: Julia and Shannon


Book Summary:
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!
 


(Courtesy of the Publisher)

Julia and Shannon's Thoughts:
1. What were your initial impressions?
Julia: A Court of Thorns and Roses is compelling and the world building is fascinating. Feyre is a dynamic heroine, though slightly naive. I loved this book.
Shannon: Well, Sarah Maas has definitely cemented herself as one of my favorite authors.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book!  It was fun, exciting and romantic.

2. What was your favorite part?  Least favorite part?
Julia: I loved when Tamlin loses his self control, he doesn't do it often, but it is delightful when he does! My least favorite part is really just, Feyre taking so long to come around. I know she's a pretty sheltered girl, but she's intelligent and a bad ass hunter...The puzzle pieces should have clicked sooner. 
Shannon: I think my favorite part was Feyre living with Tamlin.  I know some have complained about it being insta-love, but I didn't get that at all.  She was there for months!  That's longer than you get in most books.  LOL.  My least favorite part was the last 1/4 of the book.  It takes a turn and I just wasn't into it.  It did introduce a new character that I really liked, but the whole thing seemed...silly.

3. This is a fairytale retelling of Beauty and the Beast and a few others.  Do you like how it was done?
Julia: Sigh.... Yes, yes I guess I do. Beauty and the Beast... The Little Mermaid, they're my favorites. This felt a little bit like those, but then not at all. I may have just been too smitten with Tamlin and Lucien to notice any flaws.
Shannon: I do.  You definitely could see the Beauty and the Beast elements in it.  But again, it deviates from that story line to another one that includes impossible tasks.  I liked the impossible tasks idea, but still thought the last part of the book was silly. 

4. How did you feel about the characters?
Julia: Smitten. Frustrated. They're very well written, and I even liked the dynamic of Feyre's family. As awful as they seem, they are realistic to me with their selfishness and imperfections. Feyre is really the only one that truly frustrated me. I'm smitten with Lucien, Tamlin and Rhys. Diving into their back story is thrilling. 
Shannon: Sarah Maas writes great characters.  They are all very dynamic and with big personalities.  I loved Lucien, Tamlin and Rhys so much.  I felt like I really understood their personalities.  Feyre I was a little less smitten with.  She is very slow on the uptake sometimes.  Tamlin will literally have to tell herself 2-3 times before it sinks in.  She comes across as very naive, but given her circumstances and what she has had to do to provide for her family, I thought it was incongruous.  Also...she is basically the only female character with any real depth.  I don't normally have an issue with this, but this book is very male-centric.  I'm not sure I dock it because of that, but it was something I noticed. 

5. How do you like this series compared to Maas' other Throne of Glass series?
Julia: Throne of Glass is definitely more "me" than A Court of Thorns and Roses, but I am satisfied with both. I do feel like Throne of Glass is more exhilarating, but I love Maas's writing, she is an awesome storyteller. I was totally incapable of putting this book, and each in the Throne of Glass series, down. 
Shannon: This is only the first book in the series, but so far I like Throne of Glass better.  Or at least I like the protagonist better.  But I also do remember that I didn't like the first Throne of Glass book nearly as much as I liked the subsequent books, so I'm hoping A Court of Thorns and Roses will also grow as much as Throne of Glass did.  I will say this is a sexier story though.  There were some scenes that surprised me considering it is YA.  But as an adult...I certainly don't mind!

6. What would you rate this?  Who would you recommend this to?
Julia: 4.5 out of 5 robots. I am docking it .5 because the curse sometimes felt silly. I am recommending this to those that already love Sarah J Maas and fantasy books! I have been finding myself having a hard time getting into books that center around the fae, but had no issues with A Court of Thorns and Roses. I pretty much think Sarah J Maas is an genius... 
Shannon: I'm with Julia on the 4.5.  I really really enjoyed it, but again...that last part of the book was a little off for me.  I definitely recommend this to Maas fans and to all fantasy/faery/fairytale fans out there.


1 comment :

  1. I still need to read Sarah Maas!
    I'm surprised you call it a Beauty & the Beast retelling - was it intended as that? Or is that something other people have called it, or you called it? I had thought from the back cover description and the names that it was a twist on the Scottish myth of Tam Lin.

    Anyway, I'm keen to read the book sometime, I'm glad that even with the little bits you both disliked, you still enjoyed it enough to give it 4.5.

    ~Ailsa @ The Book Bundle

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin