Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace [Review]

Shallow Graves3 out of 5 Robots!

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace
Genre: YA Paranormal
Release: January 26, 2016
Hardcover: 276 Pages
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
My Copy: Publisher
Reviewer: Shannon

Book Summary:
For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

(Courtesy of the Publisher)

Shannon's Thoughts:
First off, the premise is good.  Breezy wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death.  She is "alive" and can now sense if someone is a murder.  She starts to take her revenge on those who have killed, but gets caught up in a strange cult that wants to eradicate the world of those like her.  

Sounds fun, right?  Unfortunately, I didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I was going to.  It felt very flat to me.  Flat writing, flat plot, flat characters.  There was no change in tone from a slow point to an action part.  The plot never really delivered on the premise.  There was so much exposition to explain everything, but nothing is really answered straightforwardly.  

But perhaps the biggest turn off for me was that all the characters felt the same to me.  There wasn't anything behind them, especially for our MC.  We were told a lot of things about her, but I never got a sense of her personality.  I didn't dislike this book per se, but I don't think it was very memorable either.  

1 comment :

  1. This book popped up from nowhere for me.I had not seen it anywhere at all, and then, boom, it seemed to be on everyone's Stacking the Shelves list. I hate it when I miss a good book that might have been in EW or NG, so I am glad that it was only meh. :)



Related Posts Plugin